RAID 1 or better ideas

Hi, first of all, please don’t explain how raid works :slight_smile:

So I’m a video editor and graphic designer and I’m out of storage… so I bought 2x 8TB IronWolf hard drives and now I’m thinking what to do… The first idea was to config them to RAID1 so I get ‘‘safe’’ drives, so i can keep my long term documentary footage, project files, renders there and time by time work with it - but my question is: after all thous years windows still are not supporting something like dual read? So I don’t get Read Speed benefits?

Second question: My motherboard is Asus Crosshair VI Hero (x370) and I can’t get info about hardware RAID… is it supporting some kind of dual read From RAID 1 setup? or I’m still don’t get any benefits except ‘‘safety’’.

In short, im don’t know what to do with both drives … right now I have 2x2TB external Storage on RAID 0 with important footage on it and I want ASAP to get a copy of it.

I’m here because maybe you have better ideas how to organize all better, any ideas?

I have

1TB ssd

250Gb SSD

2TB - HDD

1TB - HDD

2x2tb - RAID 0

3TB - Archive

(and brand new in packages 8TBx2)

• in the end, I’m interested in ‘‘Safe’’ as possible storage with fast read speeds (for complicated 4k editing projects), don’t care about write speeds…

With that amount of drives i’d be tempted to build a FreeNAS box and attach to it via a pair of 10 Gb NICs, but that is additional investment.

Windows is not great for storage options that are both safe and performant IMHO.

I’d stick the 1TB SSD in your editing rig (for local editing/scratch space), stick all of the drives into the FreeNAS box and use the 250 GB SSD as a read cache on it.

Again though, that is significant additional spend.