Quick DAC Question

Hi,
total audio noob here.
I want to buy a dac+amp combo (Sound Blaster X7 looks great for me as a complete package)
And was just wondering how a DAC works.
I can hear static noise if no music is playing on my PC. (cheap on board audio).
Phone sound is mostly fine (a bit muffled), until i also charge my phone. Than it's a disaster. Static noise overload.

If i now connect a DAC will it filter out this static noise?
But the line from PC/phone to DAC already is not perfect. So hows that working.
How do you get the audio "cleaned" if its already ruined down the line.

Maby i don't get it and thats all bs. So i'm asking.

A better power supply/power cable will clean up static in audio.

Also, a better sound card will clean audio.

A DAC converts the digital source to analog so we can hear the sound. Because we humans hear in analogue and not digital. Pcs and any piece of electronic that you can hear audio from, contain built in DACs.

Electronics that do not contain DACs are called transporters and require an external DAC to be able to hear the music.

> disclaimer

I am no expert either, I'm just getting into audio as well. So I may be wrong., on the part where I said a better power supply would remove static. But I do hear on forums people saying a high grade power supply/power cable provides cleaner and better audio. This is why I invited zoltan to this conversation, because he knows more about audio then I do. at least I hope so.

1 Like

The two most obvious causes of static are when you are increasing the volume over 100% in software and noise after the signal has been transferred to analog. Having an external dac will help prevent the latter, especially if you make sure no electronics like your phone is close to your headphone cables. And if dac has a built in amp that is more than powerful enough for your headphones, that should prevent the former. I guess bad source would be the next most obvious cause.