Questions AMD APU PFSense Build

I have a spare computer leftover from a failed HTPC build (too weak for gaming).
I was thinking about converting this PC to become a PFSense build, but had a couple of questions as a complete beginner to the software.

Is it more power efficient to use a low wattage power supply since this will be running 24/7 and only as a router? Or will the extra wattage just not be used so a higher rated power supply is fine?

Is this APU actually bad to run as a router due to lack of processing power? And does the processor use too much power to just be used as a router?

Parts list below:
AMD Ryzen 5 2400G
Gigabyte GA-AB350N WiFi Mini-Itx
Corsair RM 650X or SF 600
SSD M.2 250GB or 500GB (whatever works better for PFSense)
Case is a Corsair 380T but make change to something more quiet
Network: Verizon FIOS 100 Mbps down and up

Thank you for your time.

1 Like

I am running PFSense on PC Engine APU2. WAN connection is not that great <100Mbps, but is running Suricata and pfBlockerNG/DNSBL. Works fine, currently between 5-15% while streaming video. Even pulling around 50Mbps I have not seen it eve n hit 50% CPU usage. Things that bog it down: loading and displaying suricata logs, and VPN connections with a lot of data moving through them.

I would guess that the 2400G would work fine for almost any home use cases, unless you have multiple VPN connections. Again depends on how much packet sniffing and how many VPN connections (and what type of encryption). Only way to know for sure is to benchmark your use cases.