Questions about fans for my pc-build

OK. here’s what’s going on: I still have a few components/parts yet to acquire for my build, but I’m a bit confused about the case fans. (Specifically, the RGB & all that.) So, try to go easy on me as this my 1st pc build & I’m still learning a few little things as I go. :slight_smile:

Clearly my build has the LL120 mm RGB fans from Corsair. (But FYI- my build won’t have an AIO CPU cooler; just a standard tower heatsink for CPU cooling. Which means for the case fans, I plan to use them to help with cooling. Via the motherboard or whichever software Corsair uses nowadays for controlling fan-speed & the RGB lighting, etc.) However, I’m not sure if I will need just the Commander Pro, or the Lighting Node Pro & the fan hub that comes with my case… As you can see, I’ve heard that the RGB can be 1 of the trickiest parts about building a pc. Hence my confusion.

So, here are my questions about this:

1. What will I need for my particular setup: Just the Commander Pro & that’s it, the Lighting Node Pro & the fan hub that comes with my case…?

2. Also, how will it all be connected? (You know, which plugs into what & in what order?)

3. And which software is now best for fan control & the RGB- Corsair Link, iCue, etc?

In case anyone needs specifics, I’ll be providing my parts list which will be linked below.

My build/components/parts list: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/6Wdbtp

If anyone happens to need any further details or wishes to ask me anything else, feel free to do so & I’ll be sure to fill you in! I hope someone who has had proper experience with this can help clarify or make sense of it all for me.

Thanks to anyone who can help! :smiley:

1 Like

It depends on how “fancy” you want to get with the RGB.

The more expensive stand alone controller have multiple channels and more effects. So you can have LEDs chasing, or different colors, etc.