Question for Qain or anyone in networking

Next year I will be flying to India for a few months to gain some certifications.

If you were in my shoes, which certifications would you pursue?  

I am currently studying for the CCNA and fingers crossed I will have passed before I go to India.

The CCNA is probably one of the better ones.  While there is a lot of Cisco-proprietary stuff to it, it does cover a lot of the general networking topics as well.

Other than that, it would depend on your focus area within networking, as even Cisco has many flavors of certs. I, for example, am focusing a little more on firewalls at my job, so I am working toward CheckPoint CCSA/CCSE certifications.

I guess a better question would be "What certification would you recommend after the CCNA?" I realize there is no easy way to answer that. I will probably have a better idea when have completed the CCNA. 

Certifications are pretty low tier, actually. To go anywhere, you'd need to get a degree.

I have a degree, its definitely been helpful. You are going to have to explain why certifications are low tier, you must know something I dont. 

To get a certificate, you have to do online research, a little hands on stuff, take a cheap test and boom. you have it. It was discussed in a recent inbox video. 

Just like having a masters is better than a bachelors, having a degree of any kind is better than a certification. Any highschool grad can get one of those.

yeah but employers eat that shit up. but i still believe experience is KING.

I disagree with you buddy. Degrees tend to cover a number of subjects in different modules in my experience. They are definitely worth doing but they don't prove you have specific knowledge the way certifications do.

Some certifications are incredibly difficult, there is also paths and levels.

http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/certifications/index.html