Question for Phone App Programers

Okay, so I've been cultivating an idea for an app for a couple years. Its actually pretty awesome in my opinion, and no its not a game, its an actual useful app.

So what i'm looking for is either advice, or help in development. Its not going to be an easy app to make, but the rewards in theory are exponential. Seriously, i know i'm using a lot of buzz words but its right up there.

Also, how do i make sure someone who offers to help doesn't steal my idea?

Thanks in advance, Mark

1) Pay them actual money upfront. It is a job to make software, and hiring someone should be treated as such.

2) You're idea probably is not that unique, so don't think of it as a unicorn. It has probably been done in some form before, so try and find it, learn why that software succeeded or failed to do so, and learn from it.

3) NDA, or commonly known as a Non Disclosure Agreement. Here is the thing about it though: many software developers know that startups who use NDA's and don't talk about what the software actually is our does without it, are usually going to flop. Again, your idea is probably not that unique, so give your developers a general idea on what the app is so that they know the scale on which to develope. Keep your ace in the whole the NDA, which is what will set your software apart from the rest.

4) developing an app is expensive. Usually a few thousand on the cheap end for something simple, and exponentially higher depending on how complicated it is. If you don't have the capital, you are going to need funding.

EDIT: sorry for the poor grammar. Typed this from my phone.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply!

I completely understand the need to pay people, far too many times was i on 'work experience' for which the clients got a free product for travel expenses. Unfortunate this is prolific in most industries, its the new exploitation not to mention internships.