Quality of industry standard 3D packages RANT (Blender is excused)

I love Blender as much as you guys do but can’t use it because client needs.

So I have a year Subscription of both 3ds Max and Maya and V-Ray. I have to say, I am overwhelmed by the amount of bugs and the level of polish I am seeing in the 2019-2021 versions. Shortcuts casually stop working needing to delete the prefs file, several functions just outright not working at all. If I want 3ds Max to automatically refresh textures, that will instantly crash the software, so need to uncheck that in options. And just random constant crashes, whenever I try to do as much as think of doing something out of the ordinary.

And then, the occasional corruption of work files. Ohh man. This has happened three times this year. Saving a file corrupts it, leaving me only the option of trying to merge data from it to a new file, often with severe issues, hoping that the latest auto backup isn’t corrupted as well. Maya has also done this.

How can this be possible?

Also,99% of the reports I send to Autodesk go unanswered. I understand V-Ray and external plugins can be to blame when using them and that in those cases Autodesk doesn’t really need to answer. But that doesn’t mean Chaosgroup shouldn’t also take a good look in their bugs.

Comparing to other apps such as music composition software, Logic Pro, Mac software and such, I feel that pro 3D apps are the worst of all.

Actually have been wondering could it be that the fact that I am using Ryzen is the problem? If that would be so, then it would make every bit of sense to switch to Intel like immediately for me.

1 Like

2 things

1. software is hard
  2. every software company looks to be going “agile” and focusing on crapping out some “feature upgrade” every year rather than focusing on quality
3 Likes

Maybe laziness and complacency resulting from basically owning the market?