Putting together a home surveillance system, general home security

Admins, if this is in the wrong category, feel free to move it.

Ive started looking at some options for a home surveillance system. I have not had any break-ins, vandalism, or anything like that. Maybe that is the best time to start, before something happens?

With that said, my main reason for this project is that it interests me. It involves some tech that I have not played very much. Depending on how crazy this thing gets, I'll be messing with port forwarding, DDNS, FTP, and POE. Fun stuff. I'm still learning about some of these things and, as is my way, what better way to learn than by diving in head first?!

On to the specifics. I am looking at installing 4 POE cameras. I have not decided whether I will buy an NVR

or run this off of one of the computers I have.

To be honest, I am leaning toward the NVR for a few reasons.

• First, the NVR already has POE integrated, this will save me from having to buy a POE switch, or a couple of injectors.
  • Second, the NVR that I linked includes a 2 TB HDD. That will save me having to buy that individually as well.
  • Third, and this will require some testing on my end, multiple cameras recording at the same time require quite a bit of CPU horsepower, from what I've read. Other than my wife's or my main rig, everything else is running i3's for low power operation. If I need an i7, that purchase alone will cost more than the NVR.

At this point, I have purchased one Reolink RLC-410 and a single port POE injector for testing. So far, I am pleased with the results; though, I have yet to try it outdoors.

If anyone has any experience with either the NVR I linked, or the camera I purchased, please let me know.

Your thoughts are welcome, as well as possible test scenarios for the equipment. Thanks!

just gonna drop this here

4 Likes