Proxmox VE versus Nutanix community edition

Hi and hello to you!

I have been using proxmox for over 6 months now on my old server. But I recently got adviced to try nutanix community edition? I am not anyone doing a proper comparison between proxmox VE and Nutanix community edtion as hypervisors. (I know it might not technicly be 100% correct, please let me know if you know a better term!)

Any experiences or thoughts on this matter? Of course, it would be awesome to see Wendell or ServeTheHome make a video about this subject :wink:. But I would love to hear your thoughts!

I mean there are so many options, if you are familiar with proxmox and like it why switch? Unless there is a compelling feature or you are planning on using it for work or something, then I dont see a reason.

2 Likes

I agree. Don’t change a running system. Unless you are really feeling limited by what Proxmox offers. If you just want to experiment and look around what’s available…there are a lot of options.

I myself want to dig into OpenStack at some point…try new things, learn new things. That’s what a homelab is also about.

Spinning up VMs and deploy Nutanix in a test environment is always an option. Ripping out everything you have, replacing it with X, be disappointed or don’t know how to run it…better be prepared and warmed up.

And if the product is open-source or free via community/developer/home use license…just get the downloads going.

I’m certainly not familiar with Nutanix, but I certainly like to hear some first hand experiences in a L1T context.

Yeah, I am running proxmox now. And I doubt that I am going to find a better option.

At the moment, I do not know if my home server has enough compute to try out, for example, virtualized Nutanix CE. Currently running a pair of Xeon X5570 with 64GB of RAM, and some disks. I could quickly spin up another system with an 3rd gen core i5 in a hour, but I have not seen the need to do so.

you will not.