Proxmox networking woes

I’m VERY new to linux and Proxmox. I’ve been playing around with proxmox on and off for a good few weeks now and ran into issues where Proxmox and the Asus motherboard I have don’t want to play nicely with the SATA controller. See more here: Hypervisor for a newbie? - #25 by Nic_s

So I gave up and got my hands on a second hand 4th gen intel system.

i7-4790k
Asrock Z97 Exteme6 (On latest available Bios)
16Gb of ddr3

This board has 2 x 1Gb onboard NICs, one Intel and one Realtek.
Intel® I218V (Gigabit LAN PHY 10/100/1000 Mb/s)
Realtek RTL8111GR (PCIE x1 Gigabit LAN 10/100/1000
Mb/s)

So far only the Realtek one seems to be picked up by linux and it will only run at 100Mb/s.

I tried using ethtool to set the speed to 1000,

…but as soon as I do that the network dies and I have to reboot the machine. After the reboot and after Proxmox has been running for about 60 seconds or so the network would come back, but at 100Mb/s again.

If I can’t make this Asrock board work, then I can switch it out for my Gigabyte 4th gen board I’m currently using which has 6 SATA ports which will be fine for what I want to do. Still, I’d like to try and learn what I can before I do that.

I’m out of my depth here and need some help.

1. How to I get full speed?
  2. How can I get the Intel NIC to work instead and see if that maybe works better?

Proxmox should have no trouble picking up an intel nic. Is the realtek the one that popped up during installation? Or the only one that shows up in the GUI? You could try

lshw -class network

To show all the network devices Proxmox can “see”.

As far as speed, have you tried the basics already? Using a known good CAT5-e or CAT6 cable?
Router and/or switch you’re plugged into supports Gb and set to auto negotiate?

Hey guys… so I think both NICs are actually busted.

I just spent hours testing and then installing windows to do more testing.