Prospective First Time Builder

Hey everyone, I have been thinking about replacing my laptop (which was made in 2007 and is a Mac) and recently have seriously considered building my own PC. I am thinking that the most I would want to spend this build about 650 but I would go 700-730 since I need a monitor, a mouse, and a new OS. I do have a few things I would like to have in the build after doing research for the last 2 1/2 days:

CPU: I would hope to have an AMD Fx-6300. From what I have read, it is one of the best values when trying to get good performance while on a budget.

Motherboard: Now, I am not entirely sure what MOBO would suit me best. I have seen various build using a variety of mobos and it has confused me somewhat. I would hope it would allow me room to improve parts for the future.

GPU: From what I have seen and heard, I could either go the Nvidia Geforce GTX 660 2GB or the Radeon R9 270 2GB. Again, I am not entirely sure because this is my first time and I am literally what my username is.

RAM: I believe that either 4GB or 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz would do me well but I think 4GB would serve me better price wise

Storage: WD 1T 7200RPM Hard Drive. I have seen it in just about every build in the price range I have given, so I will stick with this. I may later on get an SSD.

Case: I have heard that the NXZT cases are a good value for some friends and other reputable sources. Other than that, I have little idea of what to choose.

PCU: I think that a 400-430W power supply should be plenty of fuel but that is just going off the research.

Optical: Just a DVD/CD writer. Nothing too special about that.

Monitor: No idea.

Mouse: Nothing too expensive.

OS: Windows 8.1, I would want to get it since it would be a large improvement over what I have currently. I just want to have the most recent and get used to Windows again.