Proper router-behind-a-router solution

This might be a complete noob question, but what’s the by-the-book setup for putting your own router behind an ISP multi-box?

My use case:

• SOHO - enable guests to use WI-FI but on a separate network range (employees aren’t supposed to use WI-Fi for Company needs).
  • 3 LANS (or VLANS) (office-LAN + CCTV (cameras only accessible on the internet through a security application in a docker and a reverse proxy) + WIFI. With blocked communication between them).
  • UNRAID/freeNAS storage solution, for LAN file sharing, but probably running a Nextcloud docker (and previously mentioned CCTV solution), so a reverse proxy setup is needed for that docker.

So far I’ve had a Mikrotik router (a simple Routerboard HEX) behind the ISP router (MT WAN to ISP LAN port), since there was no need for reverse proxy or port forwarding, and it worked just fine (using wi-fi on a ISP and everything else on the MT router), but now I would like to configure that properly - either using another (more capable) router or maybe even trying out Wendell’s “pfsense on an old machine” idea :slight_smile:

My available equipment:

• My ISP uses FRITZbox 7590 multibox (router, switch, 2 WiFI AP with advanced options like scheduled availability,…), but 3 of 4 RJ45s are used for UDP (IPTV).
  • managed Cisco SG-200 switch with PoE
  • Mikrotik CRS309 10GB switch (for 8PCs with the highest transfer file loads).
  • TP link unmanaged 16port Gigabit switch

Should I go with a double router config at all, or just use the ISP’s one and add my switches and configure firewall rules in the ISP box? I have no problem setting a separate WAP on a VLAN if you tell me to put an ISP’s box into the bridge mode (I’m not sure if that’s possible). But honestly I would prefer to have it on physically separate network, with a router that has no known security issues.

Thanks to all in advance…

1 Like