Programming with C++

I'm new to programming, and any tips examples, or projects would be helpful to not only me but other people interested

1 Like

There's a pretty cool book called [u]Beginning C++ Through Game Programming[/u]; generally speaking I find that learning a programming language is rewarding if you can see and interact with the results. That's pretty much how my school teaches it, I'd imagine that it'd be similarly effective if someone teaches him/herself that way.

cool, i'll take a look into it, thanks

learn the basics making sample programs... like make a logic statement, with some simple cin>> and cout<< stuff.... then make a function, and test that out.... then a structure, class, ext....

once you get done with polymorphism, you can go on one of two branches... gui / game programing, or platform API programing.... both meet up, and in the end you will learn both, but its about the order you learn stuff....

for example, if your running windows, and you learn windows sockets (internet stuff), then you will learn how to send data over the internet, and then later apply that to a game. if you go down the other path, you will learn how to make graphics, then you will learn other things such as network connectivity.

if you have any questions, pm me, talk to me on the irc, or email me at [email protected]

im not sure how advanced you are, but if your JUST starting out, i sugest using code::blocks for your IDE and minGW (gcc) for your compiler.... mingw comes with code blocks, and if you have any trouble setting it up, i can help you via chat, or remote support (such as team viewer)