Programming - Where to start?

Hey Everyone, I found tek syndicate not too long ago via youtube. This community always seems really helpful and great so I figured I'd dive into it as well.

I want to learn to code, my goal is to one day be able to produce a video game. While that is a lofty goal and one I know is far off, how does one start? Where does one learn to code? What languages do I need to learn and which are beneficial just to know?

Let me start off with the main question; Where do I start?

I've tried some online tutorials but they are hard to keep straight and while I learn a few things I'm not sure I'm getting the best thing. Would a college course help me to better learn this or would being self taught through internet tutorials and practice be what I need?

How do you keep yourself focused? I can do it, I know, I just sometimes find it hard to stay focused while doing this. Maybe a few minutes break would help during the more tedious exercises?

I really want to learn. I have a goal, and I want that goal to become reality. I just don't know where to start. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hit the books bro, it's the best way to learn. you can't just become a code master over night from youtube tutorials, as much as i'd like that to be the case :/

Lol I didn't expect it to happen over night. I know it'll be work. Where do you find books on this? How do you know which ones will help you the most?

That's some really good advice. I should look into game modding. Scripting languages could be a gateway into something. I'll keep all that in mind, thank you!

Dude, you are wanting to do something where it takes programmers years to actually get to the point of being able to program a game. I know there is a Python Programming book for bigginers that you learn how to create a small interactive game, but if you are wanting to get far as creating an Indie game, then you are going to be putting a ton of time into it.