Poweredge R900 for $200 worth it? Potential Multi GPU support for it?

Specs(from seller):

• 4x Xeon E7450 (24 cores total)
  • 128GB DDR3 ECC
  • 4x 15000Rpm Drives, 465GB Each
  • appears to have all its necessary bits

My use case:

• originally wanted to stuff at least 4 GPU’s in there for GPGPU/Crypto but i dont see any power connectors and each PCIe slot doesnt look wide wnough for a dual slot GPU. This is my absolute main goal for my server, everything below is secondary.
  • If the above cant be done then it’ll probably be turned into a VM hosting a NAS, multiple game servers, VPN, maybe email, and somilar purposes
  • Power cost isnt an issue, its included in my apartment. Noise might be annoying though i might be able to figure out a spot to hide it.
2 Likes

wow thats a kickass deal

1 Like

Do you have any experience with this particular server, or know someone who might?

1 Like

I have an R710. So yes I have some experience dealing with poweredge servers

The 900 series are beasts, and if what you say is true and getting is for only $200 (is that with free shipping included)? Because these things go for like $700 used; with a lot less spec wise.

2 Likes

The server is actually local so i might be able to convince the seller to drive it over for me (i dont own a car). Its good to hear that the servers got some value to it so i probably will take it.

Do you know how well it might handle getting GPU’s stuffed into it? A quick google search didnt pull up much info on it, pics look like it doesnt play well with dual slot cards and i couldnt see how to possibly power the GPU’s.

1 Like

this alone makes it worth it XD

3 Likes

These servers are mostly used for compute nodes. So this guy would make one hell of a vm box.

1 Like