Power off every night or Sleep long term?

With my next pc build well underway, ive been overtaken by the incredible urge to smartify (not a real word) most of my appliances, where practical. That is make things work with echo (alexa).
Nanoleaf aurora lights, digital clocks, smart brewers, and finally i want to be able to power on the pc while approaching it so that by the time im sitting its up.

With Alexa this is possible but only if in the sleep or hibernation states.

My question, to this lovely community, is if in this day and age there are any cons to leaving your desktop on long term?

Surely it gets enough reboot time when installing/updating os. And the spike in electricity should theoretically be worse than the frequent ongoing low charge of electricty running through your components.

Im no engineer so hopefully some of you can shed some light.

Do components age while computer is in sleep or hibernation mode? Does the powersupply fail faster? Does the memory fail faster? Or is this whole idea just pointless to begin with since i can just hit the power button and be at my desktop in around 10 seconds anyway?

Any ideas/thoughts welcomed.

If you're going to be gone for six or more hours, I usually recommend hibernation. Anything less I recommend sleep. Much of the claims about these things impacting the life of your hardware is generally false or inconclusive.

It's possible Alexa will support powering on the PC while turned off through Wake-on-LAN.

https://www.reddit.com/r/amazonecho/comments/53u1cl/using_alexa_to_wakeonlan/ might be good to look over.

2 Likes

Powering off your PC? Pffff what a rookie.

The main reason to sleep/hib/power-off are power savings. Do you pay your own electrical bill? If so, you can save a few bucks a month by not running your pc while at work or while sleeping.

Most computers while idling are going to use about 100-150watts. Add the monitor (another 20ish) and it's measurable on your power bill.