Plex Server

Hello friends, I have 2 Dell R410s with me and I’m having trouble using them.
Drives Available: 8 x 300GB SAS, 2 x 10TB, 1 x 4TB, 1 x 2TB

I want to run Plex media server on one. I want them to wake on LAN when a stream is needed. If I could have the 10TB drives in some sort of Linux storage pool that would be great (I’m studying up on KVMs ATM).

I have one running Ubuntu right now with a storage pool of 4 x 300GB drives. The setup was shoddy and honestly I’m not sure how it works or what my level of redundancy is. What should I do?

Not sure what your problems are, but my router or another linux machine can sent wake on lan requests.

For Plex I am using CentOS and setting everything up was real easy and runs for me for couple of years now.

2 Likes

WoL should be easy to setup, enable it in the BIOS then add it to netplan. Easily googleable. That said, my guess is Plex media server expects to be running at all times, so I don’t know if it will work with WoL.

Mirror the 10GB drives with mdadm. Again google.

For the 4 300GB drives, I would just throw them out because, 300GB drives? It’s 2019, you can buy 240GB SSDs for $40. But if you want to keep them for some reason put them in RAID5 to maximize storage or RAID10 otherwise.

3 Likes

I agree SAS drives are not energy efficient anymore. But they will perform well for oflloading data while you set up everything.

1 Like

To clarify my troubles are setting up a ‘RAID’-like service and make it wake on LAN.

I have been having issues with getting the back-plane to recognize the 10 TB they come up as 2.2 TB and it appears from my research that his model doesn’t support anything more. What should I replace it with to fix this?

There are 2 limitations in place: RAID/HBA Card and possible extender in the backplate.

The problem with backplate can be identified by by-passing it.
Problem with HBA and RAID cards can be usually googled from datasheets.
So we can help there.