Plex Server problems in Ubuntu Server 16.04

Hi all - I have searched and perhaps missed it but didn’t find this exact issue…
So I am new to Plex but have been around Ubuntu for a bit…i have plex installed on ubuntu server connected to an internal ntfs disk that is also a samba share on my local network…samba locally, plex remotely was the idea but i am having a helluva time getting a CONSISTENT plex connection remotely…it seems sporadic…i try now and cannot connect, but this morning all was fine…i have a pfsense router connected to a shitty TTNet service (Istanbul) and both have port 5001 forwarded and 5001 is listed as the port to forward in plex but for the life of me i can NOT get a consistent connection that is always available remotely, even though i can see in webmin that the plex services are running and regardless of whether or not i can connect locally…it seems totally random which to me sounds ridiculous, i know…
Has anyone had a similar issue with ubuntu/plex? both are fully updated and were just restarted…as of right now i can connect locally but not remotely…also, i can only connect locally through port 32400 EVEN THOUGH 5001 is forwarded and setup in the plex settings as the port to connect through and oddly enough i have had times where i could NOT connect locally through the IP address but could connect locally through the webapp…like wtf??? im a bit stumped and perhaps in over my head but i am like 95% of where i want to be…?