Please help a noob set up an ubuntu web server [solved]

so I have been banging my head against my desk for the last 3 hours trying to get this working. so I have been trying to follow a digital ocean guide to setting up an ubuntu web server using a tool called caddy. the link to this tutorial is here "https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-host-a-website-with-caddy-on-ubuntu-16-04" so, I got all the way up to the second to the last step of typing the IP Address in to chrome and going to the test page that I set up in a previous step, but it is saying that the server is refusing to connect. While I have been using Ubuntu for a few years now on my home machine this is the first time that I have used it for hosting a website. can anyone help me out here by either helping me fix caddy, or suggesting another tool that would make this work? thank you.

Ping your server and see if you get a response.

Try step 4 again as it seems your server is blocking that port.

the ping connected, and 0 packets lost. running "sudo ufw status" returned

To Action From

80 ALLOW Anywhere
443 ALLOW Anywhere
OpenSSH ALLOW Anywhere
80/tcp ALLOW Anywhere
21/tcp ALLOW Anywhere
80 (v6) ALLOW Anywhere (v6)
443 (v6) ALLOW Anywhere (v6)
OpenSSH (v6) ALLOW Anywhere (v6)
80/tcp (v6) ALLOW Anywhere (v6)
21/tcp (v6) ALLOW Anywhere (v6)

sudo systemctl status caddy

what does that return?

I think that we have something!

● caddy.service - Caddy HTTP/2 web server
Loaded: loaded (/etc/systemd/system/caddy.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: inactive (dead) (Result: exit-code) since Thu 2017-07-06 22:28:29 UTC; 4h 49min ago
Docs: https://caddyserver.com/docs
Process: 1531 ExecStart=/usr/local/bin/caddy -log stdout -agree=true -conf=/etc/caddy/Caddyfile -root=/var/tmp (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
Main PID: 1531 (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)

Jul 06 22:28:29 ubuntu-512mb-nyc3-01 systemd[1]: caddy.service: Service hold-off time over, scheduling restart.