Pixel 3a Running Ubuntu Touch Very Well

I’ve been on the hunt for a Linux phone that can be dailyed, so I picked up a Pixel 3a to run Ubuntu Touch on. I’ve found that this is by far the best Linux on mobile experience I’ve had so far. It’s not perfect, but I like it enough that I don’t miss my Note 8.
But before you buy or flash UT you must get a phone with an unlocked bootloader (not the same as GSM unlocked), which the phones from the Google store will have, and you’ll need to downgrade from Android 10 to 9. It’s pretty easy though.

This is my daily phone, and the only one I’ve been carrying for a few months now. Something good to know when looking at the battery life I’m getting.

(Fresh install)

Phone Specs:

• CPU - Snapdragon 670 - 8 cores (2x2.0 GHz, & 6x1.7 GHz)
  • GPU - Adreno 615
  • RAM - 4GB
  • Storage - 64gb eMMC 5.1 (no SDcard slot)
  • battery - LiPo, 3000 mAh, 18w fast charging (non user replaceable)
  • Rear Camera - 12.2 MP, up to 4k 30fps, with flash
  • Front Camera - 8MP, up to 1080p 30fps
  • Screen - 5.6" 1080x2220, OLED
  • Ports - Headphone jack, Type-C
  • Features - Fingerprint sensor, dual speakers (earpiece and bottom firing), NFC

More specs can be found here: Google Pixel 3a - Full phone specifications

Problems:

• MMS - Can’t receive or send
  • SMS - Works, but will break if on 4G (fix by selecting 2G/3G in settings)
  • NFC - Seems to do something, but doesn’t work for connecting BT devices
  • Gestures - Sometimes unresponsive (I’d say it happens less than once a day on average) (Seems fixed)
  • Keyboard - Sometimes wont pull up (very rare, I often forget about this problem) (fixed)
  • Speakerphone - Unusable, no mic input
  • Earpiece - Can’t adjust call volume
  • Clipboard doesn’t always update across apps (copy something, switch apps, can’t past) (fixed)
  • BT calling does’t work well with my car (I can hear them, but I sound far away, which isn’t a problem with Android)
  • PayPal checkout doesn’t work.