Pinebook Pro: Six Month Update

If you haven’t read the first part of this odyssey, please read here.

So I’ve been using the Pinebook Pro for approximately six months now, so it’s time for an update!

Software

First and foremost I made the switch to Manjaro and I don’t regret it for a second. I’ve had a preference for Manjaro and other Arch-based distros ever since I first tried Manjaro a few years ago. BSD isn’t my jam for whatever reason.

Anyways, Manjaro has been nearly flawless. It installed without a hitch, and the normal Manjaro stuff is there. It feels and acts almost exactly how it would on an x86 device, so if anybody already knows Manjaro they could jump in with minimal issue. The normal terminal commands I use (e.g. $ pacman -Syu for updates) work as they should as well.

There are some funky software things I’ve run into. For example, I got KiCad to work with zero troubleshooting, but I can’t get Discord working for some unknown reason. Not sure why. Aside from that I’ve used Libre Office, GIMP, and VLC with success. No weird settings menu crash in Chromium either :slight_smile: It looks like one could use Blender too.

Physical

Well, to be honest, my opinion hasn’t changed much since my initial impressions. It’s surprisingly solid for how cheap it was, the screen is perfectly fine, keyboard is functional, and the trackpad is iffy.

I’ve totally dropped this off my couch at least once and it’s suffered no damage. I’ve also tossed it on my bed a few times with no negative results. The only thing that has happened was one of the speakers popped out when I was opening up the laptop for the first time, which easily could have been my fault. The speakers are just glued in as best I can tell, so I simply pushed it back into place and it was back to normal.