Pfsense rookie

Im new to pfsense and freebsd but familiar with a few of the other oses including linux (to an extent), but I am having trouble getting this setup...
basically i am planning to try out using a laptop as a router but i would like to set this up FIRST before i connect to my modem and it only has a single eth port so i need to be able to connect through the wlan adapter
with that said, i havent been able to figure out how to set the wlan connection to broadcast an SSID
once i can connect with a seperate machine i should be able to use the webgui and i am sure that will be fairly straightforward, at least to get the ball rolling anyway, but i am stuck here
if i had an eth1 port i realize that i could connect through it, and i also realize that i could buy another adapter to have that capability but i would rather not at this point
im a bit stuck....i had eth0 (re0) assigned to WAN and wlan0 (ral0) assigned to LAN but i am unsure if that was correct
i had an IP address assigned to the wlan connection and nothing assigned to eth0

any suggestions?
and yes the hardware IS supported, I looked into that and both interfaces are showing up without a problem, i am 99% sure that this is my naivety with regards to networking and freebsd rather than hardware and i have yet to find a how-to or tutorial to solve this
for that matter is there a file that i can use VI to edit that may sort this out manually through the shell?

Set the wlan as wan (or any other spare interfaces of they exist) so you can use the wired port for lan, then you can connect another computer to it and configure it. If you juggle it around a little you should be able to swap the wlan in for lan and after you connect to that put the wired nic back as wan.

Alternatively buy a cheap usb network adapter and use that to help set it up, but basically there is no way to configure the wireless network outside of the gui (no easy way anyway)

2 Likes