Pfsense cant see internet behind adsl/router

Hi I am a noob when it comes setting up pfsense or networks and trying to learn. but i can't find much info on running pfsense behind a router that gives me a clear setup.
Running pfsense 2.3 on an old PC with 1 Wan and 1LAN port. Wan Port to the ADSL Router (not plugged into the its WAN port) like this:
ADSL modem/router >>>>> pfsense pc/dhcp >>>> Switch >>>> PCs

when i 1st connected everything on a fresh install it all just worked, all the PCs behind pfsense could see the internet. now i dont know what ive done and a fresh reinstall has not helped. i can get the PCs behind pfsense to see a DNS. sigh

Can you bridge your dsl modem?

1 Like

I just had a problem with this on my box, did you try going through the Setup Wizard again? It fixed the issue for me both times it happened after I changed hardware.

i would think you could its a billion 7800vdox but the interface is a pain!

yes i have. I seams PCs cant get the DNS. the thing is i can ping ips on the net and on the network fine from the web GUI. its there some rule i have to have to say pass on net traffic to the network?

The default pfSense rules on the LAN interface are to allow outgoing traffic, but deny unsolicited incoming traffic.

Are you sure that you have both DHCP working correctly and DNS servers configured?

lol no im not sure

You have to tell pfSense which DNS server(s) to use. Use 8.8.8.8 for testing purposes.

The way that this info is conveyed to the hosts, is by DHCP, at the same time that the IP address is handed out.

EDIT: After you make these types of changes, you'll need to either provoke the host into requesting a new lease, or you'll have to go into pfSense and terminate the current lease.

I've frequently recommended this series of vids. I think that you'll find them to be helpful.

ok so i have 8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4 set for DNS
on my Configure WAN Interface:
Type set to DHCP?