PFBlockerNG Occasionally breaks my DNS? (Solved for now?)

Hello, i’m new to both pfSense and pfblockerNG, but i wanted to give them shot. Pfsense due to its power and flexibility, pfblocker because i enjoy being able to filter out crap on my whole network instead of each device individually. .

I set them up and everything seems to be working fine… except sometimes it just randomly breaks Unbound for whatever reason. Once was during a surprise power loss(will eventually get small UPS for it) but the second time wasnt triggered by anything. I have added some extra blocking lists for it to fetch and i’ve set it up update them daily. I find that it seems to corrupt the dnsbl file because i always have to reconstruct it to get it to work (force update dnsbl list to rebuild it then reload it).

So far i’ve had to rebuild the list twice and i have had another few times where things briefly dont work but then magically decide that all is well after all

Any ideas?

Don’t know if it has anything to do with your problem, but if pfSense isn’t shut down properly it starts to display weird behaviors. I once had a friends daughter unplug my pfSense box (SG2200) to plug in her iPad. After a couple of weeks I couldn’t log in to the admin interface via https. Given that this was only a month old device I called NetGate and was told that if pfSense isn’t shut down properly the system becomes unstable.

So with all that being said I would suggest you reboot the system like you would a computer, you can’t just pull the plug on pfSense. If you use https to interface with it then under diagnostics tab select halt system. Give it a few minutes and restart the system, pfSense should repair itself if your power failure is to blame.

1 Like

If its that bad it almost seems like you need a UPS for your PFsense box… even if it only lasts for a few minutes it’ll at least shut down cleanly.

1 Like