Pentesting?

I've started lookinh into what I want to do for a living, and, honestly, Penetration Testing sounds like something I'd like to do.

Problem is, I have absolutely no experience in networking or in anything security, just simple stuff like setting up routers and stuff for family. Do you guys and girls know any good ideas or resources on how to understand Penetration Testing?

Also, if any of you guys do pentesting for a living, what's the job like for you?

I should start by saying I have no experience in this subject, and very little interest but. The first thing to come to mind is that youtube channel Hak5? or HakTip? I forget which. They do some windows tutorials for metasploit. I think they do other stuff aswell?

Hak 5 has some good videos on a bunch of stuff ( https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3s0BtrBJpwNDaflRSoiieQ ). The playlists "Metaspliot Minute" and "HakTip with Shannon Morse" are good for metasploit and wireshark, two really common penetration testing tools. Other than that downloading kali (a linux based pentesting distro https://www.kali.org/ ) and messing around with everything is a good start. You can learn a lot just buy googleing and reading and trying stuff out on computers on your home network. Just make sure you have permission to pen test and keeping the traffic local is always a good idea.

Your first test as a pentester.

Find which pen is nearly out of ink. You have 45 minutes to complete your task

2 Likes

listen here u lil shit

I learned alot from watching Defcon talks. Joe McCray also has a pretty good video series that covers a lot of the basic stuff.