Passtrough with only one GPU !NOOB ALERT!

Hi there so I was wondering if it could be possible to run Linux as my main OS with Windows 10 KVM to play games on with the almost native performance. I saw that you could do the PCI Passthrough but that requires 2 graphic cards which I don’t have.

So basically what I’m trying to achieve is a Linux as a main OS while inside of it has a Windows 10 gaming KVM for playing games like Forza Horizon 4, CoD MW, CS:GO HvH, Minecraft, Just Cause 4, GTA 5 etc…

I’m new to the Linux in general and I still can’t decide on what distro to use for such a thing if it is possible, I don’t like dualboot as an option because its really annoying to power off and back on every time I want to play those games.

System specs:

Ryzen 5 2600 (stock speeds)
Asrock B450M Steel Legend
16GB DDR4 3000MHZ (2x8)
Gigabyte GTX 1660 Super 6GB
WD Green 256GB M.2 Sata SSD
WD Blue 1TB HDD

You cant pass a single gpu already in use without SR-IOV, which your GPU doesnt have.

1 Like

With the OP’s current hardware setup I do not think this is possible.

It is possible to chuck a GPU around but since there is no iGPU there will be no output if it is passed to a VM.

1 Like

I found out that i can still enable that option in the bios!

I found the method on yt

You can enable the option but the GPU still doesn’t support it.

Thinking outside the box a little. It’s a bit convoluted, but could you not pass through the GPU to windows then remote in to the host OS from within windows?

How do you boot the host?

GPU passthrough is not possible with your current setup but you have a few options.