Passthrough doesn't work with 5700 XT

Hi,

This is my first time posting here so sorry if I’ve posted in the wrong category.

I have a 3700x, an x570 Aorus Elite, a 5700 XT, and a HD 2400 PRO (just to drive my secondary monitor which is VGA only) in my system and wanted to try passthrough with the 5700XT instead of dual booting.

I’ve tried it first with the 2400 just to test things, added the PCI ids to /etc/modprobe.d/vfio.conf, restarted X with a config that doesn’t use the card, unloaded radeon and started the VM. It worked really well, I saw the VM’s login prompt on the display and I could very easily stop the VM use the card with X and the stop X and use it with the VM again so I moved on to the 5700XT.

Since the 5700XT is my boot GPU I ssh’ed into my machine from a laptop, stopped X, unbound the virtual console, unloaded amgpu and loaded vfio-pci. lspci showed that the 5700XT and its HDMI audio (which are the only two devices in their IOMMU group) were indeed using vfio-pci instead of their original drivers and I got these messages in dmesg:

[  109.723121] [drm] amdgpu: finishing device.
[  109.767358] Evicting PASID 0x8002 queues
[  109.820732] [drm] amdgpu: ttm finalized
[  185.521544] vfio-pci 0000:0b:00.0: vgaarb: changed VGA decodes: olddecodes=none,decodes=io+mem:owns=io+mem
[  185.533054] vfio_pci: add [1002:731f[ffffffff:ffffffff]] class 0x000000/00000000
[  185.545501] vfio_pci: add [1002:ab38[ffffffff:ffffffff]] class 0x000000/00000000 

I’m not sure if ffffffff:ffffffff is normal but I whenever I tried starting the VM I got these kernel errors and had to restart the machine. https://pastebin.com/D7qdbL3i I really have no idea what is causing this the only thing I can think of is that I haven’t done anything related to the vbios but that shouldn’t make the host kernel print these errors.

Additional info about my setup:

• Distro: Gentoo with Linux 5.6.2(navi reset patch applied)