Partition problem after clean install

Oy there, ladies and lads!

Today I did a clean install of Windows 7 on my Alienware m17x. I've had problems with that earlier last year but managed to perform a clean install without any issues. This time however, I installed windows on my C drive and expected it to path programs and downloads to my much bigger D partition. It however doesn't do that. It tries to install everything on C (which has about 14.6 gig). So much so that I can't even install Java.

How can I change that? I believe I'll have to do another clean install, but what else do I have to do? Or do I have to change things in the BIOS?!

Cheers!

I am not an expert but are the programs being downloaded automatically? If they are not then I am sure that there is some setting you can mess with in Windows that makes all of the non-Windows programs go into the D drive. I would probably let the programs that connect(for lack of a better word) to Windows go onto the C drive. 

Aye, they're not, and yet some (like Java) don't give me the possibility to save them to a specific place. Besides I'd like to be able to donwload stuff without having to check how the C drive is doing. When I first got this laptop and every time I did a clean install I didn't have to worry. Everything was fine.

I think the reason as to why this is going on is because at some point I installed windows on both partitions (don't ask me why...I don't know how it happened...brain-fart).

windows always saves to the C/ drive, if you want stuff on D/ you have to move it there

you can also make folders on D/ and have shortcuts on C/, for my-pictures/my-documents though, and make sure your web browser is set to save downloads to a folder on the D/ drive

Java always needs to install certain files to the C drive (windows), it wont work otherwise.