Overclock i5 6600k

Hey everyone,
I just got a hold of a i5 6600k and I started overclocking it, I was wondering if anyone had some insight on a good temperature range to fall into for load and idle? As of now under stress the core temps are mid to low 70's and at idle in the 30's. I know the tjmax is 100, but i just wanted to know if anyone else had any other advice, for this is my first time overclocking on Intel (i cam over from team Red).

Thanks

The higher your temperature the higher the leakage is.

I'd say stick to the 70s for now, mainstream intel chips have a tendency to run really hot due to the way the IHS is constructed.

Why not post a CPU-Z screenshot during load.

Compared to the fx 6300 I used to have overclocked these seem like pretty high temperatures, but it looks like they are safe with others who have overclocked the 6600k and 6700k.

I think you should be happy with that overclock, 4.6 is pretty alright.
I wouldn't go above 1.3v with 70c load temps.
The reason intel chips seem to run hotter can probably mostly be blamed on where the temp sensor is and how it is calibrated.

thanks. It only to those temperatures when I'm using prime95, when I use a program like real bench it only gets to be about 60c. Overall, I'm pretty happy with this overclock.

I'd say programs like cinebench are more accurate for real world 100% load than prime95, and I suggest you avoid using prime95 on all modern intel CPUs regardless.

Don't like prime95?

Its just that Prime95 can get a bit wonky with newer Intel CPUs, especially with haswell.

1 Like

My first time overclocking my CPU, I think my voltage is unnecessarily high. Anyone have advice one this?
~64C max temp, idle ~26C