Overclock Fail after removing GPU

Came home to a dead computer - MB/GPU lights on but hitting the power switch did nothing.
Trouble shooting revealed that it would power up with the GPU (GTX780) out. Would also power up with an old 7600GT so I don't think it's the MB.

Note that during these tests there were no peripherals and I didn't let it boot completely, just enough to know it was working and then I would hold the power switch till it turned off.

After setting it back up and using the integrated graphics (i7-4770K) I got an error message saying "Overclock Failed" and hit F1 to enter setup or something like that. Went into the UEFI but couldn't think of any reason why the OC that I've been running for several years would fail so I Exited without Saving.

Well it seems to have reverted everything back to stock anyway - CPU is at stock clocks and the RAM is at default settings instead of the XMP profile.

Not going to mess with it right now, just wondering if anyone has heard of this before.

Running a chip at higher voltages and frequencies will gradually degrade the silicon. After years of running it as you have, the silicon can no longer support your prior overclock at the prior voltages. You can either raise the voltages or lower the frequency. Lowering the frequency and maybe the voltages as well would be advisable, since the chip has obviously started to fall off. This is normal behavior to observe from a chip that has been overclocked and pushed for years, this just comes with overclocking. I had the same thing happen with an FX 8350 that I pushed too hard, and even my graphics card overclock became unstable after prolonged use. It just happens because silicon doesn't hold up forever.

That is an unknown at this point. I haven't gone back in to try and re-do the OC.