Optimal partition setup for my system and requirements?[Solved]

I am relatively new to Solid state drives. I also am having a lot of issues figuring out the optimal partition setup for my computer configuration. I have a 120GB solid state drive and a 1TB Hard Drive. With windows I would just install the OS on the SSD and then most the things that gave me options on install went to the HDD . Along with all my documents and personal data.

I do see from my searches that I can partition the system. Install the OS. Then link one folder to use a different partition.

I still don't fully understand the partitioning system scheme that linux uses. I do know I want to make it really easy to not lose my personal data when I do a new install. Which I will probably do once in awhile for "entertainment"'s sake. I have repeatedly lost data from my previous reinstalls. Do to one mistake or another.

How should I partition the system? Should I remove the SSD, and find another use for it? Possible use the SSD for only my documents?

I use a lot of room for programs, data I want to keep around. Those are actually the two things I need lots of room for.

Any help, or guidance would be appreciated.

Should probably add that the Computer is my main form of entertainment. I see it as a extremely useful giant toy. I also have a raspberry pi that I recently bought. Still trying to figure out what I will ultimately use that for. Does give me access to a browser when my main Computer is down though.

Might also be mentioning that I am rather smart. I can learn and understand new concepts easier then most the people around me. I am also rather stupid mostly do to a lack of education, learning, and exercising the gray matter. I have succefully installed OSs on my Computer numerous time. I have a very small amount of training in computer repair that is years out of date. This computer was originally a Wal-Mart special (e-machine). I don't think a single original part is left in it.