OpenVPN Firewall Rule

HI guys i am just getting into PFSense and just set up openvpn on it. i have been trying to block all of my internal network ips except for the one i specifically set to go through the VPN. any help would be much appreciated

I'm assuming this a VPN client rather than server?

Depending on how you've configured the client it may or may not override the default gateway. If it has (all traffic goes over the VPN) then you need to go to the client configuration and check the box for "Don't pull routes". Now the VPN won't override the default gateway and only traffic you specify will use it.

Next go to the firewall rules for your LAN (or whatever interface the device you want to use the VPN with is on) and make a pass rule from the IP of the device to any, open the advanced settings and find the gateway option, set this to your VPN. Make sure this rule is above any other pass rules and it should work.

Basically you can configure a gateway for any firewall rule so you can configure it in many ways, just keep in mind two things, 1) rules are processed from top to bottom on first match, and if you want to have traffic between devices on local interfaces you need to use the default gateway in the rule.

so i have checked the "Don't pull routes" in the OpenVPN configuration. when i go to specify the Firewall Rule under the LAN Rules do i just specify the "Source IP Address" as the device i am trying to pass through and change the "Default Gateway to the VPN Gateway?

Pretty much

Do i just need the one LAN Rule? i think i am missing something. it doesn't seem to be working

Can you screen shot the LAN rules

You need to move the rule above the other PASS rules (drag it and click save down the bottom) because they will match the traffic first and that rule will never get processed. Other than that the rule looks fine.