OMV Syncthing Troubles

Hey everyone

I’ve been working on a project for my parents over the past few months, but I seem to have hit a wall. Essentially, I’m trying to get an instance of OMV running on a small server for them to automatically backup their photos from their phones, and then let them access those pictures from their computer. I had planned on using Syncthing for this, though I’ve hit some major issues with actually accomplishing that. In OMV5 it turns out you have to use Docker for the install and run it in a container, problem is I have zero experience in Docker.

The problem that I’m having is that no matter what I do, I cant seem to get the Syncthing Docker (Container? Not sure what the right term is, sorry) to reference the shared folder I’ve created in OMV. I think my issues stem from the fact that I don’t know how Docker references folder locations, though that might be way off too. To be frank, I’m not sure I know exactly what the issue is, but I think this is it. I’ve tried installing with this guide, as well as this one, and then finally with a compose script. None have worked so far, but I’ll post the compose below if anyone wants to take a look to see if there’s anything egregiously wrong. One of the folks over at the OMV forum provided this, so I’ve been working off of it.

version: “2.1”
services:
syncthing:
image: ghcr.io/linuxserver/syncthing
container_name: syncthing
hostname: syncthing #optional
environment:
- PUID=1001 #the first user created in the GUI of OMV has the UID 1001
- PGID=100 #OMV adds user by default to the group users which has GID 100
- TZ=America/Indianapolis #adjust as needed
volumes:
- /srv/dev-disk-by-uuid-5afa6ae2-2da6-44ab-8296-0248b37e70ed/config_syncthing:/config #adjust the left side of the “:” to your needs
- /srv/dev-disk-by-uuid-5afa6ae2-2da6-44ab-8296-0248b37e70ed/Photos #adjust the left side of the “:” to your needs
ports:
- 8384:8384
- 22000:22000/tcp
- 22000:22000/udp
- 21027:21027/udp

tl;dr