Office Compute Server Suggestions

Hey everyone,

I’m a PhD student at a lab in Bergen, Norway (coding/information theory and crypto). Several of the people in the lab are running heavy simulations (currently on their laptops/desktops) so we’re planning to buy a compute server to be shared by everyone in the lab. The plan is for people to SSH in and run whatever simulations they have. We can basically use as many cores and as much memory as we have. We’ve not done this before so I promised to look into it. We’re looking to spend around $5K or less. This is a pilot project for us so it’s better to spend less and observe how it’s used before we commit to spending a lot.

I’m very interested to hear if you have any suggestions. Since we need little reliability (can just re-run the simulations) consumer hardware could be a good choice. Maybe Threadripper? Or would you go with something more enterprise like Xeon? Prototyping software is often done on one core so it can be a bit painful to have very many slow cores compared to a few fast. Optane is an interesting option since it could give fast caching for the people that need lots of memory.

Thanks a lot for reading this far. Again, any suggestions or thoughts are appreciated!

look into Multi-Socket Amd Epyc based servers?

1 Like

AMD EPYC™ 7451 and spend the rest of the money on RAM?

2,5k€ for the CPU and the rest on RAM should be the way to go.

If you don’t need all the bells and whistles from the Enterprise Features of EPYC, maybe go with TR4?

I’m not sure but you could get 2 2990wx on a 2 socket MoBo so 64C/128T for ~3k€ and spend the rest on RAM and there you go.

That would be the best solution for maximum CPU Performance in your budget.

Thanks for the suggestions. That’s certainly an option. Not sure I need all the features of Epyc but it does look promising. Do you have a specific server in mind?