NVIDIA PRIME for "GPU switching"

Hey Level1Techs,

I’ve tried giving Linux a chance a few different times, and usually get frustrated and stop. I think of it as a ‘me problem’ and don’t really have anything against Linux, I just have my habits and it’s hard to change them.

For a while now, I’ve been trying to figure out a workable ‘dual boot’-like situation that didn’t require rebooting my computer. I know Virtualization is a good option and the overhead is generally quite low.

I know my laptop has Nvidia Optimus, it’s a MSI GS63VR with an i7-6700HQ and a GTX 1060 (6GB). I feel like, on paper, Optimus should be an excellent trick for avoiding the annoying Code 43 error Nvidia gives when it thinks you’re trying to virtualize a consumer-grade card.

It looks like, on both Arch and Debian, NVIDIA PRIME is able to assign the GPU of choice to any application you want it to as long as you choose the one you want at startup.

As a noob, I don’t have any preference towards Arch or Debian, but the description in Debian makes it sound like it might work a little better there?

Assuming Optimus works on my laptop (haven’t double-checked that, but I believe last time I investigated it had the green light), would I be able to virtualize Windows 10 and run apps or games I can’t get to work in Linux using my dGPU? (I use Premiere Pro for school and work, and that’s a major concern–not opposed to learning another suite but it’s just an issue of workflow and comfort that’s hard to get around.) I’m taking for granted this “should” have near-native performance.

If I’m (supposed to be) able to do all that, can you kind folks help me put together a list of guides/tutorials I should follow to get this kind of setup up and running?

How much of that should I be able to test/verify before needing to actually install Linux onto my system’s internal SSD?