NTFS formatted zvol over ISCSI

I'm planning on making a new ZFS pool and one of the things I want to do with it is export a zvol over ISCSI to a windows 10 machine that will format it in NTFS and use it for game storage. What I'd like some help with is what is the best configuration to get the best performance. Specifically should I stick with the default 4k block size for NTFS and if so I assume the block size (or whatever ZFS calls it) of the zvol should be set the same? The disks I will be using are 4TB HGTS NAS disks which use 4K sector sizes and ISCSI will be running over a 10gb network with jumbo frames enabled.

I'm not sure this solution will offer optimal performance, but I'm no ZFS expert.

If this is on Linux, I'd recommend using the md driver to provide RAID/striping/whatever and then give the raw md device to iSCSI to export. In other words, I'm not sure what advantages ZFS gives you for this use case. I think it'll just add overhead for no real benefit.

The most important thing for performance will be to ensure the NTFS partition is aligned on a drive 4k boundary, which also aligns with the filesystem block size (normally 4k for NTFS). Otherwise when you modify something in the middle of a filesystem block, that block might actually span two 4k sectors on the disk (because for example it starts 1k into the first sector on disk). The disk will then have to do a read/modify/write cycle on two sectors instead of one, which is dire for performance.

One would still get the benefit of snapshots. It's just that in order to make use of them, one would have to either roll back the entire volume, or clone it and setup a new iSCSI extent on the target, access the needed data from there, destroy the extent, destroy the clone. So more leg work. But still, snapshots, and replication if it's wanted/needed.

I've done a lot of performance testing of recent. Here are some things I've discovered.