Noob trying Linux :)

Hi all,

I’m a noob trying out Linux. I’m here to learn.

Have been trying out Distros for about a week now.

I was inspired by the Level 1 videos and your crossover videos with Linus about gaming on Linux.

I’ve been a long (30 + year) MacOS guy who has on and off built Windows gaming PC’s.

I hate how Win10 has become pure spyware. And a little upset at apple for going through another let’s get rid of all the connectors and upgradeability stage. So I’m learning Linux!

Currently I’ve got an old WIn7 Dell triple booting Win7, Elementary, and Mint.

I’m loving Elementary, it just feels like home. Mint has been giving me hassles, but I finally got it up and running. I’ll have lots of questions in other sections about problems I’m having.

I’m here because one of your videos talking about how unfriendly some of the Linux community can be (I’ve had a mixed bag so far of good and bad) and this was a friendly place to call home.

So hi :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Hello bro, welcome to the community!

1 Like

LOL. The Linux subreddit. And the Arch forums.

you forgot every canonical sponsored media provider

Welcome!

Yep, we try to be as friendly as possible. Regardless, we’re here to help with anything.

We’ve seen some major strides in terms of Linux gaming in the last year or so. I’m excited for the future. :smiley:

You mentioned currently using Elementary and Mint. Were there any others that stuck out at you?

1 Like

I started on an even older WinXP machine with Puppy, Bodhi, and then was suggested AntiX… Puppy I couldn’t get to install, only run from CD. Bodhi I couldn’t get running right. AntiX was running until 2 of the 3 ram slots stopped working. That was day 1-3 of my Linux experience.