NOOB to Linux, My Ethernet is there but won't let me search the webs?

Basically I had an drive laying around and I decided to install Linux on it and use it, I'm using Ubuntu the lastest version, and after installing the OS and it making its updates, it restarted and now it won't let me connect to the internet, i accdentially deleted the original Ethernet option on the network connections but I added it back now I just need help connecting back up cause I have officially made the move to Linux YAY! And pls remember I'm a massive noob to Linux and a thanks in advance to everyone who replies here!

Can you open the terminal and type ifconfig, take a photo and post it?

1 Like

This should work

nmcli connection add type ethernet con-name Ethernet1 ifname eno1

nmcli connection up Ethernet1

If that gives you an error just check the name of your ethernet interface first

nmcli device status

look for the device with a type "ethernet" and use the device name as the ifname. this should be eno1

2 Likes

I'm sorry now it's started working? Did it perhaps need a restart or is it a problem I should be concerned about ?

Maybe Maybe not. Linux doesn't tend to do unrepeatable things like windows normally does. But if tis working, tis better not worry.

1 Like

thank you my friend

Very likely you set it up but didn't activate it, and it activated on reboot.
(ill mark as solved)

looks like the problem is back now here is my ifconfig

Run the commands i showed but use enp3s0 instead of eno1

nmcli connection add type ethernet con-name Ethernet1 ifname eno1

Do I just type the first line in and then press enter and then the second ??

Yes but change eno1 to enp3s0 which is the name of your interface.

The first command sets it up the second turns it on

Alright I'll try that in a bit and let you know the result

If you want to just setup the network and never touch it again. Ex: You dont want to use a GUI program to configure it.

Open a terminal.