Noob in need of some help figuring out what's going on with dd

I should start off by saying that I’m a complete noob when it comes to dd, so please forgive me if there’s an obvious answer to any of my questions.

I have two disks, we’ll call them HDD and SSD. HDD has a working Windows 10 install on where as SSD used to have a working Windows 10 install on but it’s partitions were either damaged or were improperly deleted. I’d like to see if I can recover any data from the SSD (just for the hell of it) but I need to use the SSD for something else in the next few days (installing Manjaro). So I’ve been trying to create a dd image of the entire SSD to a .img.gz file, in a folder on the HDD. I should note that I don’t really care about any of the data on either the SSD or HDD.

I’ve been using a Linux Live USB to boot the system and run the following dd commands.

sudo dd if=/dev/sdb conv=sync,noerror bs=64K | gzip -c > /media/ubuntu/Windows/Users/HanSolo/Image/SSDbackup.img.gz status=progress

The above failed to function with the “status=progress” option but I did get it to run without the option and it created a ~23GB image of what is a 240GB SSD. Thinking that the command might have been interrupted when the system turned the display off and locked the desktop, I ran the command again… twice in fact. But I made the mistake of using different destination disks for each image (more on this in a moment). Each time, I got a ~23GB file but all three files were slightly different in size and had md5sums that didn’t match.