Newbie wanting to learn Linux, Need help creating a dual-boot [Solved]

As the title says, I am a tech newbie that has decided they want to begin learning Linux, however I am having trouble at the start line. The problem is that I cannot get my computer to see the iso files in my USB drive and it just keeps saying to reboot or insert a boot device and press a key.

I have a brand new 1TB HDD unallocated in my pc. I currently have Windows 10 on a SSD. I downloaded Ubuntu 16.04 and later 16.10 images onto the same flash drive. I have tried to change the Boot Order in every way with the Flash Drive first reading that there were weird problem with Ubuntu and USB 3.0 at one point. I have tried altering the Secure Boot options. I have tried to manually select the device to boot from, where the menu will give me both the SanDisk (the flash drive) and UEFI:SanDisk. Booting from SanDisk gives the "insert a boot device" message and the UEFI: SanDisk just boots into Windows. I have copied the images to another known good Flash Drive and received the same results. Lastly I tried unplugging the SSD where Windows is installed and just leaving the new HDD plugged in and Flash Drive plugged in, to no avail. Any help would be appreciated.

As a side note, I have accomplished a dual-boot once before, on my laptop with Windows 10 and Kali Linux, just by changing the Boot Order and setting the Boot to Legacy.

Lastly, this is my first post on the Level1Techs Forums, so Hello Everyone!

1 Like

How are you putting the iso files on your flash drive?
Are you using a program like Rufus?

I was not. I was straight downloading from http://releases.ubuntu.com/16.04/ and http://releases.ubuntu.com/16.10/ and copying the files onto the flash drive. I will look into Rufus right now. Is downloading a program for iso files a common thing? I did not come across any mention of another program when looking into dual booting.

There are few ways to write an ISO file to a USB drive for installation.