Newbie here, requesting advice on 1950x + Linux + qemu w/ Mac VM

Newbie here. Came here from the Level1Tech Youtube channel. Like it. Very informative and really the only place talking about Linux support from a technical and hardware perspective.

I’m in a quandary. I have longstanding professional experience with NIX going back to the 80s. From Venix on the LSI-11, IRIX, HP-UX, SunOS/Solaris, blah blah blah. And Linux. Ran Linux both at home and professionally since 1993. So I’m comfortable with the prospect of running Linux. BUT…

In 2003 I transitioned to MacOS X at home. I’ve run Macs ever since. But I’m finally fed up with Apple. My 27" iMac just died and I see a Threadripper 1950x looming on the horizon as my next purchase. Great! Except for all the software I have on the Mac, most especially Adobe CS5.5 which still works just fine. And I have no desire to rent CC when I already paid and the old stuff still does the job.

GIMP is toast. Don’t even bother recommending. No nondestructive editing workflow. And no 32bit float color support on the release. Krita is great though, and I’ve evaluated it pretty closely. I could live with Krita for most work with the occasional use of PS for certain jobs.

Premiere and AE I use extensively. The Blender VSE is just not good enough for hardcore editing, especially with 4K intraframe content from pro cameras. Blackmagic Davinci is, but the linux version requires a BM monitor card for audio support (they must be having trouble with ALSA), and it doesn’t import/export h264/265hevc Interframe either. Of course Win/Mac versions don’t have these problems. Blender and OpenToonz will run on Linux, and Krita, Blender, and Natron can handle an HDR pipeline with OpenEXR file support. I’m very impressed by that.

I’m confortable with Audacity and Ardour, and actually think these tools combined are better than Adobe Audition. Logic Pro is nice, but I can live without it.