Newbie gamer needs some help

Some things before starting :

1. I use Linux

2. I have never paid for games and am completely unaware of how online payments work

3. It is very difficult to transfer money through Paypal/Google Wallet, etc in India because of the frustrating RBI (Reserve Bank Of India) guidelines. 

I bought an AMD A8 6600K APU for a new build (http://pcpartpicker.com/b/MtX) and it came with a origin key of Simcity. But I am a Linux user so it is of no value to me. Hence I thought if it is possible to exchange the key and get a Half Life 2 key instead which is supported on Linux.

I am a newbie gamer and have never played games before. But I want to get into gaming and I thought Half Life 2 would be the best way to enter into gaming.

But the problem is that, in India paying online is such a mess. I have an access to a debit card but with the awful guidelines of RBI (Reserve Bank Of India), it is very difficult to pay for stuff online on anything that is outside of India. So Paypal is very limited and it is really difficult to buy stuff online from here.

So, I was wondering that if it is possible that I exchange the Simcity key (which is useless for me) with someone online and get a Half Life 2 key instead.

Note : I have zero access to any online money transfer service. It is just the way it is in India. 

Also if I can find any Indian gamer who can tell me the ways in which he pays for games, then that would be really helpful. 

I do not think it is possible to get the Sim City key exchanged to an Half-Life 2 key.

As far as I know they are developed by 2 different companies.

I do not know which Linux distribution you are using, but Steam is working for Ubuntu.

I user PayPal for purchases via Steam, but Visa should also be possible.

Well.. is that possible that if someone wants Simcity, then I give him the key that I have and in return he buys Half Life 2 for me? Half-Life 2 costs a lot less than Simcity, so it is a good deal too.