New to PC Build,need x299 Mobo advice! RTX 2080ti, i9-7940x

Hi all,

I’m completely new to PC builds. I’m interested in booting and running the latest distro of linux Ubuntu on a build comprised of RTX 2080ti x2 and an i9-7940x cpu. I’m struggling to pick a motherboard capable of supporting 2 way sli RTX 2080ti and Linux Ubuntu. Any help would be really really appreciated. Cheers!

Whats your use case, there are some amazing deals on TR right now. What size case do you have?

Deep learning Research in the financial arena, so data preparation/processing via CPU is also important. Should I just opt for the x399 chipset TR has to offer? I haven’t considered my pc case yet. I’m focused on buying the appropriate CPU/GPU/ Mobo combination right now.

Depends on how much speed matters, if you need the speed intel offers stay that route(faster cores better ipc), if you just need raw power that scales well with cores TR is probably the better bet. You get more lanes as well with TR 64 vs 44? If you need a ton of ram you might look at the epyc route (assuming over 128gb)

Also wendell really like the $3k Nvidia card thats more tailored towards compute (forget the exact one) that would probably be bette then 2080ti’s

Do you have a rough budget?

has some good performance metrics on different software you can dig though

Yeah I would like to stay intel route if possible. I’m open to making the switch to TR. Running linux is very important to me, which is why I’ve been struggling on my decision. I’ll take a look at the graphics card as well!

My budget is no more than $5000 USD.

I think most of the early Bugs with Linux and TR have been ironed out, I dont run it on my 1950x build so cant say for sure.

Ideal Ram amount ECC important? (guessing no if intel)

I’m going with a 64 Gb for now ,but I’m going to update 128GB in the future. ECC isn’t that important for me right now.

1 Like

Air cooling preferred? Aio? Custom loop?