New to Linux: distro & dual booting

Hi all,

I’m about to switch from the Mac and give Linux a try for the first time ever (total noob here) on a new system (Ryzen 2600, 16Gb, AsRock B450 Mini-ITX) built for prosumer purposes (audiovisual production, web design, internet use and gaming).

After reading a few articles and watching some introductory videos I’ve still got tons of questions about Linux that I’d love to ask. But wait! don’t leave just yet! I’m mostly bothered by only a couple so hopefully you’ll indulge my ignorance on the subject and provide your take on the matter:

1. I’m planning to dual boot Windows and Linux on the same NvMe 1Tb drive. Do I have to create another EFI partition specifically for Linux or can Linux use the EFI partition already created by the windows installer?
  2. Distros and DE: which distribution gets closer to a newbie-friendly non-bloated and lightweight system, but still has a consistent, functional, usable, and coherent DE UI? I was planning on installing PopOS but I’ve read that it uses around 2Gb of RAM (isn’t that a lot? is that only because of Gnome?), so I’m looking into other alternatives like Fedora, Elementary, Ubuntu Mate, Mint, or Solus. Any ideas? Bear in mind that I’m coming from a Mac and I have a background in design so there’re things that at this present moment I don’t think I could even consider (XFCE is one of them). Let me clarify that I’m not looking for a DE that resembles OSX, but one that’s or can be well designed, it’s modern and meets the aforementioned criteria if possible.

Ok, that’s it, hopefully that made sense. Thanks a ton for your feedback!

1 Like