New student job september, best way to learn how to write kernel drivers, C++ & OpenGL and Pulse audio

I'm going to preface this with saying I'm finishing up my 3rd year of a comp sci degree, I'm comfortable programming in C and C++, familiar with Linux (no wizzard but I do use it as a daily driver and I worked as a sysadmin) but am by no means an expert.

As the title says I'm starting a student job (4 month) and I'll be working with one of these 3 things.

Linux kernel drivers, likely for embedded hardware
OpenGL + C++ w/ Visual Studio (its a GUI application/dashboard)
Pulse audio and Linux audio processing and mixing on said embeded hardware

I have a month off aug 5 - sep 5, with nothing to do. How should I go about learning these? What are some good resources for these topics? Can anyone proficient in these chime in?

any replies are appreciated.

Not sure about drivers & Pulse, but these are the best OpenGL resources I know:

https://learnopengl.com/

https://paroj.github.io/gltut/

Note that OpenGL differs quite a bit between versions, so make sure you know which version is relevant for you.

1 Like

I do not, I was just told "we have an openGL dashboard that we develop on visual studio, you may be working on that"

These are in no way exhaustive, but it might point you in the right direction for Linux drivers:

http://www.tldp.org/LDP/khg/HyperNews/get/devices/scsi.html

http://freesoftwaremagazine.com/articles/drivers_linux/

As far as pulse goes, I've got no experience with working on it.

Hope this helps!

1 Like

OpenGL 1 & 2 are seriously dated at this point. And given that GL4 is only an extension to GL3, v3 is probably the way to go.

Even in case they really end up using some ancient version you will still garner 3D graphics knowledge.

thank you! I'll check those links out!