[SOLVED] New NAS build: 4- or 8-sticks of RAM in 4-channel Epyc?

Is it possible to use 8-sticks of RAM with an AMD Epyc 7232P? This chip is only 4-channel memory as far as I understand it. I’d like to have 128GB of RAM.

My Needs
I’m building a new NAS using TrueNAS. My usage right now is data backups from only my PC with about 20TB of space, but I recently purchased half a petabyte of HDDs and will be taking that 20TB to another location for offsite backups.

I want to use it for:

• Backups of all Windows machines in the house.
  • Storing photos and videos of my family.
  • Automatic one-way syncing of photos and videos from Android phones.
  • Video projects for YouTube shared with my editor over VPN or some better tech. These require a lot of data capacity.
  • Plex, but I’ve never used it before, only own one Blu-ray, and I’m not sure how it handles my family videos.

Memory
Because I’m using ZFS, memory is important; therefore, I’d like to know my memory options.

• Can I use 8-sticks of RAM? If so, is this preferred with 4-channel to maximize capacity at a lower cost?
  • As far as I understand, I want DDR4 3200 RDIMMs, but I’m not sure of the ranking.
  • Where are good places to shop for RDIMMs?
  • Crucial RDIMMs seem reputable. Are those good or should I go with another manufacturer?

Motherboard
I’m looking at the ASRock Rack ROMED8-2T; although, it’s pretty expensive. Is that normal pricing?

A comparable board is the Supermicro H12SSL-CT; also priced the same. I’ve used both Supermicro and ASRock Rack: no preference; although, the ASRock board looks better.

Chassis
This NAS will sit in a Storinator. I’m buying the standalone XL60 chassis which can hold many more than 60 drives depending on the configuration; therefore, I’ll need many more drive slots; like 72 or more.

I currently own two LSI 9305-24i cards and two Adaptec AEC-82885T SAS expanders. Combined, those can handle up to 88 drives not counting any SAS or NVMe on the board itself.

1 Like