New motherboard

hi! i'm a newbie here. i have a motherboard and a processor for like 5 years already. i want to change it this year. my question is, does it matter if your motherboard is cheap or expensive? i'm trying to buy the msi 270x titanium and it cost like $300. i just want to have some opinions if i need to get a expensive motherboard or no.

In general you get what you pay for with motherboards. However, like most things in life, there are always exceptions.

For example, the MSI X370 Titanium is actually a rather bad board for the money, the ASRock X370 Taichi is a better board and costs less. On the flip side, the MSI X370 Titanium will be better than something like the MSI B350 Mortar.

I am the type that believes one should never skimp out on a good quality motherboard, but one shouldn't pay extra for a worse motherboard either.

2 Likes

Agreed, by all accounts, the Taichi is a very good choice.

Never skimp on the mobo and never skimp on the power supply.

EDIT: BTW - Cheap and inexpensive are not the same thing.

1 Like

I always go with a cheap MB, if it comes free with the cpu that's a win.
I have had OEM PSU's last 20 years
Best place to spend cash is the monitor IMHO. It is the part you see the most.

2 Likes