New laptop recommendation [SOLVED]

TL:DR New laptop, 99% typing, Surface laptop 3 vs Macbook pro 2019 vs ?

I have been using a gen 1 surface book for the last few years as a work laptop, and the keys have finally started to go weird on me. The faster that i type, the higher the chance that key presses will not register. I work as an editor across three different jobs, so its a big problem.

I have been looking at laptops, and the two biggest things for me are a fantastic typing experience, and great battery life. Up until now, my surface book delivered. because of that I have looked at the surface laptop 3, and the 2019 13" macbook pro. Both have 256gb storage, i5’s, and 8gb ram. Both are also the same price, however, the macbook can be had for slightly less money as I work for a university and apple does the education discount. The caveat is that i have never owned an apple product before, and their keyboards are weird. Are their keyboards as bad as they have been the last few generations? Will i get used to the sub 1mm key travel, or is it more of an instant love/hate type of thing?

Software is not a consideration - my employer supplies all my programs for me.
Zero gaming usage. Zero audio needs. Zero expand-ability needs.

Preferably it will last me 3 - 5 years.

Open to alternative suggestions, ballpark price is $2000 AUD / $1200-1500 USD

Why dont you go for the Thinkpad Carbon 1X?

Base model is over $2500 for me

I do have a love/hate relationship to my Ryzen Ideapad 720s but if typing is that high a priority, I would say try some Lenovo laptops if you can.

Typing is literally all I do - all day every day. I’ll check out their site, any specific models?

If its just typing, why not the upcoming pinebook pro? Its open hardware at 199USD. Decent keyboard, magnesium allow body. Linux only ARM laptop. 1080p.