New Job, Need a Workstation, must support lots of virtuals and Hardware Passthru

Greetings, long time viewer, first time poster…

Some background, I’m a developer, have been since I got my first 8088 IBM clone in the 80’s. Recently, I have become more interested in fullstack, devops oriented development processes. So much so that I have begun implementing DevOp processes in our enterprise and started integrating NetOps, SysOps, ServerOps, and Development infrastructure and tooling. In the office I have plenty of resources to learn on, however my curiosity is outgrowing what I have available at work; not to mention I have a distaste for developing personal IP on my employers resources. Thus the need to update my primary workstation at home.

Some basic goals and requirements for this build:

• Native Linux as primary OS.
  • Support GPU/Hardware passthru to virtuals so I can run a Windows VM that doesn’t really know it’s a VM (I have need to integrate Active Directory and other MS Techs and want to learn more about this specific area).
  • As much RAM as possible (128gb)

I am on a bit of a budget so building the biggest Threadripper beast possible is not really pragmatic. I’m sold on Threadripper though. My thought was choose MB capable of supporting 32core monsters, but start with something smaller and more cost effective until I absolutely must upgrade. Therefore I want to be sure I can support the higher TDP processors.