New Distro for my College Laptop

I’m looking for a new distro for my college laptop, I’m currently running Antergos and I really like it but it really doesn’t have the support I need for a lot of programs. I’m a Software Engineering student so I need access to editors for a lot of languages. Despite Antergos being largely terminal based for installation of programs, I still don’t know my way around the terminal too well. I’d like something lightweight with “pretty good” support for IDE’s and editors. I will also need to type papers but google docs and Libre Office are on nearly everything. Any recomendations are welcome.

Ubuntu 18.04, don’t think too much about it, it’s gonna do everything you need flawlessly.

4 Likes

How lightweight is it? My laptop is an older Lenovo ThinkPad with less than optimal battery life.

It runs OK on low end hardware, works on my Penryn pentium so should run on a potato.

1 Like

Just be sure to install TLP

3 Likes

Just a heads up, you might actually just wanna get a used macbook air for a couple hundred bucks of craisglist or something.

They have very good battery life and OSX is by far the best OS when it comes to battery life.

1 Like

My daughter was running Ubuntu Mate 17.04 on her Thinkpad T420, no problems what so ever, now running Solus MATE which also runs well and doesn’t consume much RAM. Ubuntu has more software available in it’s repos and keyboard shortcuts were preset, Solus is a rolling release, she’s happy with either - and doesn’t know any better only being 8 :slight_smile:

1 Like

No offense but I will roll over in my grave before I willingly get a macbook. I also have no reason to spend that money when I have a perfectly functional laptop right now.

1 Like

and powertop.

Powertop will tell you about powerusage on your device so you optimize it a better. Can also use it to help ensure your device have proper power management set

2 Likes

LaTex for documents is a great.